Hélène Grimaud plays Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G


Following a sensational Singapore debut in 2013, French pianist Hélène Grimaud returns to join John Nelson and the SSO in Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major – one of the most popular concertos in the repertory – at the Victoria Concert Hall on October 9 and 10.

The all-Mozart second half features selections from the scintillating ballet music from the opera Idomeneo and the majestic Symphony No. 39. Opening the concert is Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin (“The Grave of Couperin”).

Beyond her outstanding pianistic accomplishments, Hélène Grimaud has also established herself as a committed wildlife conservationist, a compassionate human rights activist and as a writer. Born in 1969 in Aix-en-Provence, she was accepted into the Paris Conservatoire at just 13 and won first prize in piano performance a mere three years later. She continued to study with György Sándor and Leon Fleisher until, in 1987, she gave her debut recital in Tokyo. The same year the renowned conductor Daniel Barenboim invited her to perform with the Orchestre de Paris, which marked the launch of Grimaud’s international career.

Born in Costa Rica, John Nelson studied piano at the Wheaton College Conservatory of Music and conducting at the Juilliard School where he received the Irving Berlin Prize. Recognized as one of the world’s most distinguished choral/orchestral conductors, John Nelson led the 300th anniversary celebrations of Bach and Handel at Carnegie Hall, conducting Bach’s St. Matthew and St. John Passions and the B minor Mass together with Handel’s Semele. John Nelson previously held the positions of Music Director of the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, the Opera Theater of St. Louis and the Chamber Orchestra of Paris.

SSO Gala: Hélène Grimaud Plays Ravel

Date & time

9 & 10 October 2015 (Friday & Saturday), 7.30pm

Pre-concert talk: 6.30pm7pm, VCH Music Studio @ L3


Victoria Concert Hall


Singapore Symphony Orchestra

John Nelson, conductor

Hélène Grimaud, piano


RAVEL                        Le Tombeau de Couperin

RAVEL                        Piano Concerto in G major

MOZART                    Idomeneo: Selections from Ballet Music

MOZART                    Symphony No. 39 in E-flat major, K.543






About Author

Comments are closed.